The evil that is Katy Perry

I do agree with this reasoning, and I feel that just because Katy Perry is a good singer, it doesn’t mean she should get away with everything. I think with the view on Islam today, it is natural that some of us Muslims will feel defensive, but I have already mentioned before that the literal meaning of Islam is peace and that people should remember that before getting violent. There are a lot of problems with Islam and all I will say is what is really wrong with it? I mean, Christianity is a religion, but no one has any problems with them. To each their own, I always say. Everyone has their own opinions, but do we really need to go back to nursery and say that if you don’t have any nice things to say, don’t say anything at all?
I also read a blog entry by The Angry Baboon, and I do admit that it did offend me a bit. People do care about their religions and it does offend when you say stuff like that. Like I said, s/he may have their own opinions, and there is no problem with voicing them, but I think that you should at least say them in a nicer way and think about other people, because they do care about things like this.
I think things like this make me disappointed because I don’t see why people won’t put their differences aside to work with each other. You can’t control your feelings, but you can control what you do with them and think of the consequences. I just think people should think of their actions, or at least show some sense of guilt or regret if they do make a mistake. After all, we are only human and we do make mistakes, but it’s how we deal with these mistakes that matters.

Cakiemanic

katy-perry-dark-horse-v2

Recently, the video for Katy Perry’s latest single “Dark Horse” has caused mild furore in the Muslim world. You may not have heard about it because a) you’re not part of the “in” crowd, b) you don’t know who Katy Perry is or c) you really just don’t care.

The video caused a stir when one Shazad Iqbal of Bradford noticed that one of the men in the video who is disintegrated by lightning bolts coming out of Perry’s finger is wearing an necklace carved into the Arabic word “Allah”.

Mr Iqbal believed the video to be “blasphemous” and an insult to Islam, and so did what any rational individual would do – he started an online petition to have the video removed from Youtube. Explaining his reasons for starting the petition, Mr Iqbal wrote: “At 01:15 into the video Dark Horse a man is shown being burned, whilst wearing…

View original post 927 more words

Leave a Reply

